Feline Friday: Cats in Christmas Trees

cats-new-yearCats will be cats. It really doesn’t matter that I posted a lovely blog outlining the brilliant ways to keep cats safe during the holidays, and especially how to keep them out of trees. I was feeling rather smug that my cats are so well behaved and “trained” only to find Ms. Boo about halfway up my 9′ tree!

So this is a tribute to catitude, specifically Christmas catitude. Ignoring my admonitions to stay out of the the Christmas decor is not advised but, to my knowledge, none of the cats in these random photos were harmed because of their misadventures. Enjoy!

I’ve numbered the following photos so that you can post your own comments and captions for the corresponding pictures. I can’t wait to hear your kitty quotes!

What? I'm just decorating...

1 “What? I’m just decorating…”

King of the tree! Oh yeah!

2 “King of the tree! Oh yeah!”

Shhh... you can't see me...

3 “Shhh… you can’t see me…”

That was just so thoughtful of you to put this perch here for me!

4 “That was just so thoughtful of you to put this perch here for me!”

Sorry, but this was just begging for more color!

5 “Sorry, but this was just begging for redecorating!”

I look simply stunning in the glow of the Christmas lights!

6 “I look simply stunning in the glow of the Christmas lights!”

A little help here?

7  “Um, a little help here?!”

Why yes, I AM quite pleased with myself, thank you...

8 “Why yes, I AM quite pleased with myself, thank you…”

This is the best cat tree EVER! Thanks, Mom!

9 “This is the best cat tree EVER! Thanks, Mom!”

You know I look adorable! Go ahead and snap the photo for your Christmas Card! I'm waiting!

10 “What do you mean, this isn’t for me????”

"Well, duh, I know I match the decorating theme. I thought you put this here to highlight the wonder of me!"

11 “Well, duh, I know I match the decorating theme. I thought you put this here to highlight the wonder of me!”

"I thought you said the tree needed an angel!"

12 “I thought you said the tree needed an angel!”

"It seemed like a good idea at the time."

13 “It seemed like a good idea at the time.”

"Don't look at me... This was the duck's idea."

14 “Don’t look at me… This was the duck’s idea.”

"Honest, Santa! I was just checking to make sure you were okay! I'm still on the 'nice' list, right?"

15 “Honest, Santa! I was just checking to make sure you were okay! I’m still on the ‘nice’ list, right?”

"It was the nightmare before Christmas, and all through the house, not a creature was stirring...NOT EVEN A MOUSE!"

16 “It was the nightmare before Christmas, and all through the house, not a creature was stirring…NOT EVEN A MOUSE! Gasp!”

"I'll take out the big fat guy... you get the milk!"

17 “I’ll take out the big fat guy… you get the milk!”

"Hey, there's a mini me in here!"

18 “Hey, there’s a mini me in here!”

"I think this might be my Red Ryder BB Gun.."

19 “I think this might be my Red Ryder BB Gun..”

"Careful, you'll shoot your eye out!"

20 “Careful, you’ll shoot your eye out!”

"I just LOVE CHRISTMAS! WHEEEEEE!"

21 “I just LOVE Christmas! WHEEEEEE!”

9 thoughts on “Feline Friday: Cats in Christmas Trees

  1. #2 It needs an angel at the top.
    #7 I’m hiding, I’m hiding
    And no one knows where;
    For all they can see is my
    Toes and my hair
    By Dorothy Aldis

  2. Brings back memories – the first Christmas we had cats in the house a number of years ago we awoke in the middle of the night to a “rustle, rustle, rustle” sound in the house…I went down into the living room and stood staring at the tree in the dark waiting for the sound again…and when it happened I looked into the tree and saw two pairs of eyes belonging to our two young cats as they made their way up the trunk…they never really bothered any ornaments just loved the opportunity to climb the new indoor tree we had so thoughtfully provided them. Just shows cats know how to enjoy Christmas in their own way.

  3. Hi there, I viewed all of these pictures this morning, but did not have time to comment. These are the BEST PICTURES EVER ! They are the best because they are being their ” cat selves “. ……… I’am sometimes at a loss for words, and this is one of them, with all the things going on in this world, there is nothing like these beautiful cats making you laugh…..admiring their beauty, by stripe or color…………or the complete and priceless antics they alone can have the ante on. I was a ” dog person ” growing up, but about twelve ago,I got my first cat…..I was drawn into their feline world, and have never looked back ……….. Oh yes, #7 made my day too, those sweet pink padded toes……………

  4. Oh yes, picture # 19 , the cat is so intent on getting his ” Red Ryder BB Gun “, and # 21, what an action shot ! I must stop this cat madness, and wish eveyone a Very Merry Christmas Bless ………………………………

What do you think?

